Make a GIF in Five Steps

Ever since the Oxford American Dictionary named “GIF” as 2012’s word of the year, I’ve wanted to learn how to make one. And it turns out it’s really simple!

This Gizmodo article teaches you how to make a GIF in just 5 steps. For the most part, I followed these instructions, but I deviated in a couple places to make the process a little easier for me.

First, I didn’t use KeepVid to download the original video, as the author of the article suggests. I’m sure it probably would have been safe to use, but I didn’t want to take any chances. Instead, I downloaded an add-on on Firefox called Download Helper, that’s really easy to install and use. Just click on Tools, then Add-ons, and you’ll find it there!

Second, I imported the video into Photoshop before trimming down the video which worked just fine for me! I did this mostly because I don’t have another video editing program on my computer at the moment, so you could certainly trim your video before putting it in Photoshop.

And here is the finished product! (Click on the image to see the full effect.)These few seconds of Will Farrell brushing his teeth in Stranger Than Fiction will be great for Cottonwood Dental’s social media!

Stranger Than Fiction Brushing

What do you think of my first attempt? I hope this post encourages you to try making a GIF of your own!

Leave a Reply

